Skip to content

My first attempt at brewing

January 4, 2010

Just what I need.  Another moneysink of a hobby.  Earlier this year, for fathers day I think, my wife bought me the “better basic start kit” from Northern Brewer.  With a donation of a big-ass pot from an experienced homebrewing friend, my first attempt was NB’s Dry Irish stout extract kit.

Today was time to start bottling, so I took a picture or two.  First, the carboy full of lovely fermented beer!:

Next, the bottles, ready to be filled:

I’m sure I made many (currently unknown) mistakes during the process.  Several of the known mistakes/problems: left the lid on the pot during the boil.  Used the wrong size tubing on the auto-siphon first try, so I couldn’t get a siphon going.  So we’ll see!

Next thing: I have another extract kit ready to go, but I want to see how this one turns out first (2 more weeks!).  Oh, yeah, more equipment… an immersion chiller, more bottles, kegging system…. etc., etc.. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. echotraveler permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:04 pm

    What happened with the stout? im planning on doing this too… just wanted to know.

  2. jpancoast permalink*
    March 23, 2010 5:56 pm

    I left the top on the pot while boiling the wort, which introduced a funky flavor. I can’t remember what chemical it is, but it boils off and floats away during the boil, but with the top on the pot it can’t escape and gets back into the beer.

    My final gravity was also WAY off, not sure why that was. I’m probably going to toss what’s left and I’ll be trying again soon.

Leave a Reply

