Skip to content

Our new president and torture (and aliens…!?)

February 10, 2009

Of all the things that happened under our last president, I think it was the torture that pissed me off the most. Sure, there were plenty of other things that I didn’t like, either (how Iraq was handled, Katrina, etc.), but torturing prisoners and holding them indefinitely, no matter how despicable they might be or have been, without even the slightest attempt at a trial goes against everything this country was built on. Near the end, there were some pathetic motions made towards some shammified version of a trial, of course, but this shouldn’t have EVER been an issue in the first place.

Sometime between Obama being elected and the Inauguration, I said to my wife “if I were becoming President, the VERY first thing I’d do was stop the torture”. Of course, she wasn’t taking me seriously, as she told me “I don’t think so, the first thing you’d try and get them to do is show you the aliens and all the cool top secret shit!!”. Ok, she’s got me on the seeing of all the top secret shit.

I’m just glad that President Obama at least seems to be on the way to reversing the terrible acts that were perpetrated by the previous administration under the guise of “security”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

