Skip to content

GODDAMMIT, now you've gone and pissed me off, AND I have a final tomorrow! (prop 8)

December 8, 2008

This ad ran in the New York Times last Friday (12/5/2008) (I found out about it here: Human Rights Campaign). Go and read it, I actually want you too!

Done reading? If you voted yes on Prop 8, then you might just want to piss off. I was writing this up in an email to send to a mailing list I’m on, then it hit me. “Hey, this would make a good blog post!” (I have so few of those, some would argue *ahem* NONE)

I’m curious as to what violence they’re talking about. I haven’t heard of any, but that doesn’t mean it didn’t happen. I like the second to last paragraph. And by like, I mean “This shit pisses me off”:

“Let’s be clear: even the crudest anti-religious propaganda isn’t illegal, and may not constitutionally be outlawed. But it’s nevertheless wrong. It has no place in civilized society”

Sounds like “Religous liberty” (by the Becket institutes definition) certainly doesn’t mean “liberty FROM religion”, and a (admittedly) cursory search of their website seems to bear that out.

I’ll tell you what has no place in civilized society. Bigotry has no place in civilized society. Murdering someone because they’re different has no place in civilized society. Violence against people or groups (from any side) who disagree with you has no place in civilized society. Unthinkingly following a stupid book(s) has no place in civilized society. Saying that being “anti-religous” has no place in a civilized society, has no place in a civilized society.

I’ll tell you what DOES have a place in civilized society. Questioning authority. Questioning religion. Being tolerant. Letting anyone get married to whoever they want to. Questioning religion is not intolerant. Just don’t expect a good answer 🙂

You can have your religion all you want, as long as it doesn’t restrict someone elses rights. Voting yes on prop 8 crossed that line.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

