Skip to content

Mah Tubes!

November 16, 2007

You want to see my tubes? I know you do! Here they are:

As you might be able to tell from the last picture, my esophagus sometimes develops something called a “schatzki’s ring” where it connects to the stomach. It causes problems because it constricts the flow of food into the stomach, and sometimes food gets stuck. That’s not good. If the food can’t go into the stomach, the only way for it to come out is back the way it came. The treatment for it is to knock you out, stick a big old fiberoptic thingamabobber with a camera and balloon on the end of it down your throat and expand the balloon, breaking up the scar tissue. And then take Nexium every day for maybe the rest of my life, but we’ll see how it goes.

I had this done awhile back, and have always been meaning to post the pictures. This is actually the second time I’ve had it done, hopefully I won’t have to have it done again.

However, a very cute Ethan story came out of this. I had the procedure in the morning, and they don’t want you doing anything important until the next day. So I just played WoW all day. When Amy brought the kids home, Ethan came downstairs to the basement to see how I was doing. He put his hand gently on my shoulder, looks at me in a very caring manner, and says very sincerely “Daddy, did they take your old tube out and put a new one in?” I love that boy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

