Skip to content

Changes….

January 26, 2006

Well, I FINALLY got off my ass and went looking for a new job! Even though noone reads this, I shy away from posting anything about my job or company, just to be safe. But this time I’ll make an exception. I think I’ll be ok.

Friend of mine told me about an open position at his company near the end of last summer (2005). I sent in my resume, yadda yadda yadda. Didn’t hear anything from them so I figured it went the way of 99% of job applications. I didn’t put any more effort into looking anywhere else due to attentional inertia, and “the devil you know is better than the devil you don’t”, and I was focused on classwork, etc. The list of excuses is endless, and they’re all crap. Now, I’m glad I didn’t look anywhere else.

Of course, my wife spilled the whole kit and caboodle on her blog, because she just can’t resist.

I interviewed Monday afternoon, they offered me the position on Tuesday morning. W00T! And the salary! Double W00T! And the benefits! Triple W00T! For the past almost 4 years I’ve worked at a company where the benefits are:

  • Company pays for half of the employees health care. Covering anyone else in the family had to be done out of pocket. I think close to $700/month of my already meager salary was going towards health care, and that number was going up every year.
  • I got to work from home. It started out being 5 days a week, since the company didn’t have an office. Then we got an office, and it dwindled to 3 days a week. Then it dwindled to two days/week, the two days I had class, and would have to leave fairly early to get all the way to campus if I was at the office.

That’s it.

Needless to say, the benefits at the new job are too numerous to list here.

I’m really excited about the possibilities and the people at the new job. Some good friends work there and they like it. Hopefully, I’ll not screw up a good thing 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 27, 2006 11:08 am

    again I say, YAY! ’bout damn time.

Leave a Reply

